About Gateway

Gateway was the community newsletter of Pratt Institute published monthly by the Office of Communications, in the Division of Institutional Advancement through spring 2014. For current Pratt-related news, visit the News page on Pratt’s website.



Four Others Also Receive Prestigious Pratt Family Awards


Scholarship winner with members of the Pratt family. L-R: Harvey Eisen; Madeline Peer Twining; Edmund S. Twining, IV; Catharine Pratt Cavanagh Maslow; scholarship winner William Bausback; Diana Twining; Taylor Pratt Twining; and Ned Twining

The final round of the selection process for the Charles Pratt II Memorial Scholarship took place on March 28 in the fifth floor conference room in Myrtle Hall.

William Bausback, a junior from Randolph, N.J., emerged as the winner after five finalists made presentations to a distinguished selection committee made up of members of the Pratt family, as well as President Thomas F. Schutte, Department of Industrial Design Chair Steve Diskin, and Industrial Design Professor Katrin Mueller-Ross.

Bausback’s work focuses on sustainability and is inspired by natural forms. He was awarded a $25,000 scholarship.

Hailey D. O’Conner from Londonderry, N.H. was awarded a $5,000 scholarship. The remaining three finalists (Mike Chen from Manchester, N.H.; Tianxu “Tim” Guo from Sugar Land, Texas; and Carmen Wong from Queens, N.Y.) were awarded $1,000 each.

The $25,000 award is given annually to a junior-year Pratt student who best demonstrates the ideals of the founder of Pratt Institute, which are described as leadership, community service, and self-motivation. The award also recognizes demonstrated artistic achievement at the college level. 

The scholarship was established in 2004 by former Pratt Trustee Edmund S. (Ned) and Diana Twining in honor of Ned’s grandfather, Charles Pratt II, who was the grandson of the Institute’s founder and the fourth president of Pratt Institute (1937–1953).

The scholarship rotates among departments; this year the Industrial Design department was designated to hold the competition. From its 63 juniors, 24 were nominated to submit portfolios, and five received awards.

Photo: Douglas Marks 

References (11)

References allow you to track sources for this article, as well as articles that were written in response to this article.

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.